An Elevator Episode

Source: WikipediaLast Wednesday, I has going back to our office from lunch. I was with four friends. We took an elevator from the ground floor to our floor. The elevator was packed with other employees from our company. There were two tall guys who I assume were African-American.

My friends and I were talking about work and our lives in Filipino and one of the tall guys uttered, “I hope these guys are not talking about us in Tagalog or Cebuano.” The other guy was about to respond when the elevator stopped at their floor and they left.

After the two left, the four of us look at each other. One friend said, “But were we talking about them at all in the first place?” I said, “Now we are!” Another answered, “Are they paranoid or what?” After that, we just all laughed.

