TVNZ On Demand

Television New Zealand (TVNZ) is the dominant and only New Zealand owned television broadcaster in New Zealand.  It is state owned and independent much like the BBC in the UK.

I have just found out that TVNZ is testing its video on demand service called TVNZ On Demand.  For a fee viewers from around the world can view on demand TVNZ productions such as news, magazine shows and dramas.

It is still on a beta testing stage.  There is no word on the official launch date. (Read a review here.)

This service is not new to the world.  ABS-CBN has ABS-CBN Now! for about two years now.  When I was overseas I subscribed to ABS-CBN Now to listen to radio as well as watch TV shows and news.  I must say that this kept me in the know on what is hot and not back in the Philippines.

This is a good way for New Zealanders worldwide to catch-up on what is the latest in their homeland and also curious former temporary residents like me.

