Vivo City

Last October 2006 I visited Singapore for the fourth time.  I had to fly (Philippines to Singapore via Tiger Airways and Singapore to Philippines via Singapore Airlines, long story) to Singapore because my accumulated milage from Krisflyer is to expire that year.

During my short visit I went to possibly the newest and most beautiful mall in South East Asia, Vivo City.  This mall is located in the Harbour Front which is in southern tip of the island and fronting Sentosa Island.

The mall was on its pre-opening stage as there were still shops under construction.  However, most of its major tenants are already operating such a Tangs, VivoMart/Giant Hypermarket, The GAP (the first GAP store in S.E. Asia), etc.

I must say that the design of this four level mall is very post-modern.  The façade is unique.  Inside the mall the hall ways are very wide which lets you feel that you are in a really massive building. 

The mall’s promenade was also a visual delight it is also wide and adorned with many fountains.  I was informed that the concierge staff in the promenade ride Segways to travel from area to area.

 I would love to visit this mall again in the future especially now that all the shops have opened.

Vivo City Photos (Source: VivoCity – Wikipedia):
Vivo City - outside 

Vivo City - Panoramic

Vivo City - inside

